Commerce Dept. Names New Members Of Renewables Advisory Group

Thirty-nine new members have been appointed to the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC).

Initially established in 2010 and most recently renewed in June of this year, the REEEAC is composed of senior private-sector representatives who provide advice to Wilbur Ross, secretary of commerce, on the development and administration of programs and policies to expand the export competitiveness of U.S. renewable energy and energy efficiency products and services.

“It is essential for the United States to remain a global leader in the innovation, commercialization and production of diverse technologies,” states Ross. “The foreign competitive challenges confronting American companies are immense, and the recommendations of the REEEAC will be critical in our continued efforts to ensure global markets are free, fair and reciprocal.”

The appointees for the REEEAC’s fifth two-year term are as follows:

o Chrissy Camacho Borskey, GE, Boston
o Peter Chiaravalle, POM Energy Concepts, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
o Terence Dittrich, TWD Global Enterprises LLC, Hartland, Wis.
o Brett Feldman, Navigant Research, Burlington, Mass.
o Carl Fleming, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP, Washington, D.C.
o Terry Fry, The Cadmus Group LLC, Oakland, Calif.
o Julia Hamm, the Smart Electric Power Alliance, Washington, D.C.
o Mark Higgins, Strategen Consulting, Berkley, Calif.
o Morry Markowitz, the Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Association, Washington, D.C.
o Sam Martens, OCI Enterprises, San Antonio
o William Pott, POWER Engineers Inc., Hailey, Idaho
o Donn Samsa, Toshiba Mitsubishi-Electric Industrial Systems Corp., Roanoke, Va.
o John Smirnow, the Solar Energy Industries Association, Washington, D.C.
o David Spira, Deloitte Consulting LLP, New York City
o Adam Stern, the American Wind Energy Association, Washington, D.C.
o Paul Thomsen, Ormat Technologies, Reno, Nev.
o Ross Tyler, the Business Network for Offshore Wind, Towson, Md.
o Craig Updyke, the National Electrical Manufacturers Association, Arlington, Va.
o Ravindra Vora, Transventure Energy LLC, Arvada, Colo.
o Fred Walti, Network for Global Innovation, Los Angeles
o Kathleen Weiss, First Solar, Tempe, Ariz.
o Candice Wilson, U.S. Grains Council, Washington, D.C.
o Thomas Wright, GreenStar Products Inc., San Antonio

The returning REEEAC appointees are as follows:

o Matt Card, Suniva, Norcross, Ga.
o Kelly Davis, the Renewable Fuels Association, Ellisville, Mo.
o Mike Davis, NC Sustainable Energy Association, Raleigh, N.C.
o Jen Derstine, Capstone Turbine Corp., Van Nuys, Calif.
o Svetoslav Gatchev, Delphos International Ltd., Washington, D.C.
o Arthur Haubenstock, the California Efficiency & Demand Management Council, Santa Rosa, Calif.
o Kenneth Kramer, Rushton Atlantic LLC, New York City
o Joseph Mendelson, Tesla, Palo Alto, Calif.
o Gary Rackliffe, ABB Inc., Raleigh, N.C.
o Jorge Sanchez, Thor Energy, San Antonio
o Frank Shaw, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP, Washington, D.C.
o Scott Sklar, The Stella Group, Arlington, Va.
o Paula Soos, Covanta, Morristown, N.J.
o Trey Taylor, Verdant Power Inc., New York City
o Cindy Thyfault, Global Biofuture Solutions Inc., Los Angeles
o Laura Van Wie McGrory, Alliance to Save Energy, Washington, D.C.

Since 2010, the REEEAC has provided 56 recommendations to address a range of issues – e.g., the creation of market conditions necessary for developing a strong manufacturing base and the closure of critical gaps in export financing.

The next meeting of the REEEAC is scheduled for Nov. 13 in Washington, D.C.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published.